Callie

Only the Good Die Young

In Uncategorized on June 30, 2014 at 3:27 am

Something happened today which confused me more than ever.

An acquaintance passed away, someone I had known for years but had probably only spoken to in person once when we first met. He was known by so many people from schools all around the state and even some other larger universities out of state. He was an athlete and an avid partier. He was attractive as hell, which is what I most remember him for. What caught me off guard, aside from the fact that a life was taken tragically in a car accident so young, was not just the amount of people that knew him, but the amount of people that adored him.

 

I had always thought all of the hype around this man was what I had seen on the outside: an attractive and fun guy. But I think it was his alluring personality that made so many people wonderstruck by him. My Facebook newsfeed was flooded with pictures and paragraphs dedicated to explaining what a great place he made this world. People I would have never guessed knew him were apparently close enough to have fond memories with him and post their own thoughtful sentiments. Intriguing as it is, how often is it that someone comes around and not only meets and enjoys the company of so many people, but has that many and then some (ahem, me) remembering his enjoyable presence? What a rare breed. It gets you thinking on how you can make so much out of your life that you can touch that many people, too. 

 

I think his legacy is to spread love wherever you can. I hope that doesn’t sound lighthearted; I truly believe he has done so much good by simply encouraging happiness in others as he seemed to always have it in him himself. It makes me upset that I may never be able to share such happiness as I’m rarely, if ever, satisfied with my own mental state. Hopefully one day I will get the chance to touch as many hearts as he did. 

 

I may not have known you closely, but may you rest in peace and your family be comforted in knowing that you have served this world and it’s people well. ❤

 

xx

-C

 

Talk to me!

